Garlic and Rosemary Steak


Butter, Fresh Rosemary, Fresh Garlic, Sea Salt, Ground Black Peppercorns

There is nothing I like more on my summer dinner  plate than a perfectly cooked steak.

I know everyone is getting their BBQ out and charring the flavour on with loads of marinades or rubs but if you are more discerning than that and want something a little more then try this out.

This is my adaptation of a French method of cooking steak. I learnt to cook this from Larousse Gastronomique which is the French cooking bible. I have adapted it slightly to enhance the crispy brown edges and seal in a bit more flavour. I find the French prefer their beef to be a bit tough and dry for my liking.

Cook this recipe and you will have people begging you for the method. This steak certainly stands out from the regular everyday steak that you always eat and it is fun to cook. Feel like a Chef who knows the secrets by memorising this simple recipe written below.

Recipe:

1 clove of garlic (chopped into large bits)
Sea Salt (Rock Salt)
Ground Peppercorns
Fresh Rosemary (a few sprigs)
Organic Butter (a few teaspoons full)
Olive Oil (extra virgin) A glugs worth
1 x scotch fillet steak
Equipment:
Tongs
Cast iron frying pan
Method: 1. Heat the butter, olive oil,salt, pepper, rosemary and garlic in the cast iron frying pan until  it sizzles. Season steak liberally with ground salt and pepper.

Look at it all sizzling, the flavours combine

2. Once the butter is hot enough add  the steak by placing the edges only in  the pan. Leave each edge there long enough for it to brown slightly and go crisp. It usually takes me around 30 seconds each side. Do not worry if it  does not go that crisp as it will during the  cooking of the steak.

Seal the edges in the butter. You will thank me for this.

3. Place the steak in the pan and sear one  side for around 30 secs and then turn over. Leave the steak in the pan  for around three minutes for med/rare and continuously baste with the butter mix so the top sizzles. Turn steak over and cook for another three minutes ( or there about) all the time basting with the butter mix.

The top should start to brown and go crisp like on the right of this photo

4. Remove from the pan and allow to rest for the same amount of time as the steak was cooked. I know this seems wrong but trust me. It makes for a fully relaxed piece of meat. Enjoy. Any questions leave below.

Mmmmmnnnnnnn

<script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client = "ca-pub-0697029967690611";
/* The Guy that Cooks */
google_ad_slot = "2674099960";
google_ad_width = 728;
google_ad_height = 90;
//-->
</script>
<script type="text/javascript"
src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script>
4 responses to “Garlic and Rosemary Steak

  1. This is great! I’ve been looking for a new way to cook steaks for a while. This would probably be awesome with lamb as well. I can’t wait to try this. Keep up the awesome posts!

    • I have not tried this with lamb but I could envisage it working with a nice fatty lamb steak or chop. Give it a go and let me know how it went.

  2. I just cooked this and it was probably the best steak I have ever had…and I’ve never cooked steak before. Thanks so much for explaining each step and including what it should look like and pictures! 🙂

    • I just LOVE reading comments like this. It makes me happy that someone tried it out and discovered how great it is to cook a delicious steak. Some people put up with boring, tough pieces of meat most their life. This recipe works best with scotch fillet but could be used on other meats as long as they have good marbling of fat. Well done, let me know how the other recipes turn out 😉

Leave a Reply

