Dry Rubs – The only way to get that BBQ taste in your meat


BBQ Chicken Rub

So it is no secret that I love to BBQ and I love to use my vertical smoker (see Making Bacon). One thing I love more than this though is making an amazing rub for your meat.

There are so many varying recipes for rubs out there that it is difficult to choose what would suit you and it can be a daunting task. You certainly do not want to ruin your expensive piece of meat by getting the wrong rub.

Simply cooking something on the BBQ or smoking something in your smoker is not enough. You will get minimal flavour to your food and often you will only achieve a flavour from the plate of your BBQ that you failed to clean 3 weeks ago.

I have spent a long time perfecting these rubs and I have stolen bits from all types of recipes online until I achieved something that made my friends and family moan with pleasure when eating.

Here are two that I have made. I will add some more as I perfect them. You can be sure that these recipes will work and will satisfy.

I have yet to name these so if you can think of anything leave a comment below and I will choose the best one.

BBQ Chicken Rub

BBQ Chicken Rub

This rub has a garlic flavour with the other ingredients adding an extra bit of excitement. One thing I must stress is to only coat the meat. Do not be too heavy with the rub as it will be over powering, do not be too light as it will not flavour it. I generally shake on enough to lightly coat the skin everywhere and then rub it in with my fingertips.

Recipe:
4 T Coarse Salt
2 T Coarse Pepper
4 t Garlic Powder
2 t Paprika (or smoked Paprika if you like)
4 t Ground Bay Leaf

Coat chicken with olive oil. Rub this into your chicken and let stand for around an hour to allow the flavour to permeate into the meat.

Beef Dry Rub (best on beef but works with pork and chicken also)

Beef BBQ Dry Rub

Now this rub is the absolute business.

It is the beef rub to end all other beef rubs. I can not wait when we have T-Bone steaks to cover it with this, let it sit an hour and then throw it on the Barbie.

I ALWAYS end up munching on the bone as I am sad that it has finished. I often find myself dipping my finger in when I am rummaging around te pantry and sneaking a little taste.

The key to this rub is the salt and the sweet and the heat.

Now I love BBQ but I am not one for having a burning mouth. I like to taste my food so the amount of cayenne pepper in this is tailored for my taste. It adds a slight bit of heat but nothing much. A tang at best. A tingle on your tongue.

If you can not handle anything spicy then simply 1/2 the amount.

If you love heat and spice then double it.

If you like a little but not a lot, then make it the way I have it below.

Recipe

2 cups Sugar
1/4 cup Paprika
1/2 cup Coarse Salt
2 t Coarse Pepper
1 t Garlic Powder
2 t Chili Powder
1/2 t Cayenne Pepper

Rub meat with olive oil and coat with rub. Rub in with fingertips and allow to stand for 1 hour. Throw it on the BBQ and enjoy.

Remember, if you can think of a decent name for these rubs leave a comment below and I will choose the best one.

If you enjoy these, share them with your friends and family.

2 responses to “Dry Rubs – The only way to get that BBQ taste in your meat

  1. Corenthal James Waterston

    1- Why is there a smiley face in the corner of the page?
    2- I wish it was summer here. I want to go to there.

Leave a Reply

